Posted by: Patrick Barbanes | September 4, 2008

Demeaning and Insulting. And shameless.

Well, the Republicans did it at their convention. Shamelessy bared their souls. Which turned out to be petty and heartless. (“As if we didn’t already know that.”)

Yes, on display for all to see was the Republican party’s contempt – outright contempt – for what they’ve been touting all along: SERVICE, in the form of community organizing. Apparently, the only “service” Republican’s respect is military service and a wedding service, especially for underage girls who happen to be, uh, knocked up. But enough about that young Spears sister, let’s focus on the issues…Community Service and why a Republican wouldn’t be caught dead doing it. I mean, organizing it.

See, Republicans make great worker bees. Drones. Robots. Look at how they’ve all fallen in line for a “just-folks” Governor they’d never heard of just five days ago!

Democrats fall in love. Republicans fall in line.

Oh, I’m sure they’ll say they’re all for DOING community service work. And I’m sure they’d be out in droves right now rebuilding New Orleans if hurricane Gustav had done a Katrina. (Did you see the way they ramped-up the evacuation and treated everybody like…humans? Talk about your white guilt!).

Sure, they want to work in the community. They just don’t want anybody organizing it.

RUDY GIULIANI
Rudy Giuliani kicked it off with his sarcastic and cynical approach. Attempting to put the convention audience in the role of Manager of Human Resources, Giuliani asked them to consider two job applicants: the sterling McCain (trot out POW story one more time), and then…Obama:

you have a resume from a gifted man with an Ivy League education. He worked as a community organizer, and immersed himself in Chicago machine politics.

The written words don’t even begin to capture Giuliani’s mocking attitude as he said “community organizer” while making a goofy face, and then, getting a derisive laugh from the audience, repeated the term and made an off-the-cuff joking remark about it, eliciting even bigger guffaws from the big… guffaws in the audience.
You can watch the key snippet of his insulting speech here.

SARAH PALIN
Sarah who? strode in and rolled out HER resume, starting with PTA mom – that’s usually where Executive-level experience starts – before quickly turning to the “community organizer” theme, too:

I guess a small-town mayor is sort of like a “community organizer,” except that you have actual responsibilities.

My fellow citizens, the American presidency is not supposed to be a journey of “personal discovery.” This world of threats and dangers is not just a community, and it doesn’t just need an organizer.

You can watch the key snippet of the Sara Palin speech here.

RESPONSES – Add Yours!!!
Over at the HuffingtonPost.com, here are some of the comments immediately following the convention speeches:

NatteringNabobs said it great about Rudy Giuliani’s speech:

Every blog I’m reading is NEGATIVE towards their smear campaign. Especially about how they belittles the sacrifice of Obama’s 3 years trying to improve a community that wasn’t even his home town. Even CSPAN was 6 to 1 changing their minds about GOP and half voting Bar and half Obama. Nobody I heard was happy with it.

and he went on to write:

I use to tolerate RG now I just despise him. Every word out of his mouth is pure lies.
But I think he might have united a party and a great number of independents by slandering the work of Barak Obama.
Shameful….

and beigebroad wrote:

as sick as that speech was, the crowd’s reaction was even sicker. my 2 favorite parts: cheering wildly for PTA mom and belly-laughing the community organizer.

Here’s a reaction on video: “My parents were community organizers….”

Republicans, you should all be ashamed. Every last one of you. That was your convention, and you used it to demean the work of the community organizer. Not just Barack. You demeaned community organizers everywhere. It’s your official party platform, put forth by one of your key figures (Rudy Giuliani) and your Vice Presidential candidate, Sara Who?

I ask any Republican, how can you defend that attitude? And don’t you feel like you need a shower? For soap, try Lava. I hear it’s good for the soul.

So VENT. LEAVE A COMMENT BELOW. TELL YOUR STORY on the “Tell Your Story” page. And vote for Barack Obama! How could you do otherwise?!

Responses

  1. I was ashamed and appalled at what I was hearing starting with Rudy and all the way to Gov. Palin. I was slack jawed the whole time just amazed at what i was hearing and not just the words but the attitude. It’s not that i can’t believe that the are people that behave that way in America, is watching them all together in one place. The open mockery, derisiveness, contempt for one of the foundations of public service is shameful. Just thinking about it now is leaving a distaste in my heart and just sad that this is what one our options for leadership are? Still leaves me speechless when i think about.

  2. Victor – I couldn’t agree more. But all they did last night was make the choice, the differences, EVEN CLEARER. This should make it sooo much easier now for people to make up their minds. And in my mind, I believe in my heart that they will choose Obama. Funny thing is, even when these folks find themselves down and out, we’d find a way to reach out to help them.

  3. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

  4. Sign: umsun Hello!!! rcuwwymhyw and 3162ssgfhphzye and 5739Sorry, what did you mean?? A??

  5. Sign: zdbrw Hello!!! zpuzr and 1262fewxdmwhgw and 621 : Sorry, what did you mean?? A??

  6. Hey there are using WordPress for your blog platform?
    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and create my own.
    Do you need any coding knowledge to make your own blog?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  7. For most up-to-date news you have to pay a quick visit
    world wide web and on web I found this site as a best web page for most recent updates.

  8. I was suggested this web site by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my trouble. You’re wonderful!
    Thanks!

  9. Very good blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring
    writers? I’m planning to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you recommend starting with a free platform like WordPress
    or go for a paid option? There are so many
    choices out there that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any recommendations? Kudos!

  10. Spot on with this write-up, I seriously believe this website needs a lot more attention.
    I’ll probably be back again to read through more, thanks for the info!

  11. If you are going for most excellent contents like I do, simply pay a
    quick visit this web page all the time as it provides quality contents, thanks

  12. Asking questions are in fact nice thing if
    you are not understanding anything totally, but this article provides nice understanding yet.


Leave a Reply

Categories

